J. Bruce Jackson, MD, Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring

The Jackson Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring recognizes the positive impact Case Western Reserve University faculty and staff have on the lives of students. It was established by J. Bruce Jackson, Adelbert '52, in honor of Dean Carl F. Wittke, who served as an advisor, mentor, and friend to Dr. Jackson when he was an undergraduate student at Western Reserve University.

The Jackson Award celebrates faculty and staff who have guided a student in their academic and career paths; fostered the student's long-term personal development; challenged the student to reflect, explore and grow as an individual; and supported and/or facilitated the student's goals and life choices.

Nominations should be submitted online. The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 13, 2017.


The winners of the 2016 Jackson Award winners are Lisa Nielson, Anisfield-Wolf SAGES Fellow, and Rekha Srinivasan, Chemistry. A student nominator for Professor Nielson said that, "The very fact that I can so comfortably speak with and ask for advice from Dr. Nielson is something that truly makes her a mentor. She doesn't just give me career tips or tell me some classes I can take. Dr. Nielson takes the time to truly learn about my personal circumstances and then makes every effort to help me in any way she can." Professor Srinivasan's nominator said that, "She has helped me build confidence and independence, skills that I know will serve me well as I transition into the professional world next year. I am grateful for how she has shown me what real interactions are like, challenging me to be more deliberate in making decisions that will have significant and positive impacts on my own life."

Both were honored at the 2016 Commencement exercises on May 15 during the Undergraduate Diploma Ceremony.

Lisa Nielson and Rekha Srinivasan