John S. Diekhoff Award for Graduate Teaching and Mentoring

John S. Diekhoff

The John S. Diekhoff Award is presented to four full-time faculty members who make exemplary contributions to the education and development of graduate students at Case Western Reserve University. The award was created in honor of John Diekhoff, who served in several capacities during his tenure here. From 1956 to 1970, he served as professor of English, chair of the Department of English, dean of Cleveland College, acting dean of the School of Graduate Studies and vice provost of the university.

In 1978, the university created the award to recognize outstanding contributions to the education of graduate students through advising, mentoring, and classroom teaching. Initially, the award was presented to two full-time faculty members who serve as outstanding mentors to graduate students, connect them with experts in their discipline, engage them academically, and actively promote their professional development. In 2009, the award was expanded to recognize two full-time faculty members who excel in the teaching of graduate students.

The award is sponsored by the School of Graduate Studies. A committee of graduate students reviews the nominations and recommends the winners.

Congratulations to Our 2017 Winners!

The 2017 Diekhoff Award winners are Cathering Scallen, Alex Huang, Erin Benay, and Frank Ernst.