Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

The Carl F. Wittke Award was established in 1971 in honor of Carl Wittke, a former faculty member, dean and vice president of Western Reserve University. The Wittke Award is presented each year to two Case Western Reserve University faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching.

  • Nominations should be submitted online. The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 12, 2018.

The winners of the 2017 Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching are Richard Drushel, Biology, and David Kazdan, Biomedical Engineering.

Professor Drushel's nominator said that, "I have never had a professor so engaging and genuinely eager for his students to learn... Not only did he make learning a fairly hard topic, anatomy, straightforward, he made it enjoyable."

Professor Kazdan's nominator commented that, "Professor Kazdan presents material, from the mundane to the outlandish, with an infectious enthusiasm that is both inspiring and enviable. His teaching makes me want to go beyond the material required by the course, and learn as much about as many peripheral topics as possible."

Both were honored at the 2017 Commencement exercises on May 21, during the Undergraduate Diploma Ceremony.

2017 Wittke Award winners