Submit a Nomination

Criteria for Selection

The Carl F. Wittke Award was established in 1971 in honor of Carl Wittke, a former faculty member, dean, and vice president of Western Reserve University. The Wittke Award is presented each year to two Case Western Reserve University faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching.

  • Nominees for the Wittke Award must demonstrate excellence in undergraduate teaching at Case Western Reserve University.
  • Nominees must be an instructor of record during the current academic year.
Nomination Process
  • Nominations for the Carl F. Wittke Award are solicited annually.
  • All Case Western Reserve University undergraduate students and recent alumni (within two years) may submit nominations.
  • Nominations must include information on how the student knows the nominee and why the nominee deserves to be recognized for excellence in undergraduate teaching. (Nominators may not nominate a member of their immediate family.)
  • Nominations should be submitted online. The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 12, 2018.
Selection Process

A selection committee of undergraduate students, recommended by department chairs and deans, will:

  • Review all written nominations
  • Interview the candidates
  • Visit classes and talk with students
  • Select two annual Wittke Award winners

The Wittke Award winners are recognized during University Commencement in the spring.